Wool Industry Scrap

Lets talk more about fillings!  100% wool is a popular industrial material and I was excited to find this sample batch of 100% natural wool scrap in my mail box last week.

Small parts are die cut from wool and used in many different industrial applications.  Look here what is left over!

That is a lot of waste, don’t you think?  I currently found a source willing to sell me their scraps (shown above). They told me that the scraps are collected in large bins under the die cut machines, never touching the floor, they are bundled and kept very clean wrapped in plastic.

I can buy this waste, as a wholesaler, by the 100 pound bale.  It makes a great support layer but may be a bit bumpy as a topper layer.  If anyone has an idea on how to shred this wool scrap up finer, it may make a great topper layer too.  I will do more research on the shredding and I will share pricing per pod once I get my quote back on the shipping (should be a very low cost option).  Good find I think.

I hope to have more filing ideas in the future but if you have any ideas, please share them in the comment area.

2 Replies to “Wool Industry Scrap”

    1. Great resource, thanks. Wool scrap makes a great base layer as it will compress over time and become more firm, but you cannot beat the price! Yes, those 50 cent per pound scraps would work wonderfully I would think.

Leave a comment